[2009] buy digital
[2016] [CD|LP|DIGITAL]

"[2016]"is the follow-up to Switchblade's Swedish Grammy Award nominated and critically acclaimed "[2012]" album. On "[2016]", the 7th album, the band has once again taken one step forward and two steps back with a slightly different approach to their minimalistic doom by turning up the tempo, adding more melodies and a lot more textures.

In its nineteenth year of existence, Swedish band Switchblade is ready to unleash its brand new album [2016]. Core duo Tim Bertilsson (drums) and Johan Folkesson (guitars) once again teamed up with sound wizard Karl Daniel Lidén — whose services already have been used by The Ocean, Katatonia, Greenleaf and many more — to create yet another 40 minute slab of their unique proggy doom. Switchblade’s last effort, [2012], included guest appearances by Kongh frontman David Johansson, keyboardist Per Wiberg who has played with bands like Opeth and Candlemass, and Katatonia vocalist Jonas Renkse. The outcome was an album that not only received rave reviews, but also earned nominations for a Swedish Grammy and a Manifestgalan prize, annually presented by SOM (Svenska oberoende musikproducenter), the world’s oldest indie label association. During the past 4 years the band has played a decent number of special gigs - including performances at the legendary Roadburn Festival in Holland, as well as several support concerts for worldwide favorites Ghost.

[2016] serves up three brand new, lengthy tracks, and finishes off with a blinding cover of legendary British progressive rockers Atomic Rooster’s classic ”Death Walks Behind You”. The album sees the return of both Johansson and Wiberg, with an even more remarkable result — those who appreciated [2012] will love [2016]. The new album is by no means just a repetition of a previously successful recipe. With its classic yet new take on the band’s trademark sound, [2016] will appeal also to those who enjoyed the band’s earlier work, as well as a brand new audience.

[2016] will be released on May 27 via Denovali Records & Trust No One Recordings, and will be available on vinyl, CD and digital download.

Switchblade [2016]:
· Johan Folkesson - guitar
· Tim Bertilsson - drums
· Per Wiberg - hammond, mellotron, piano
· David Johansson - vocals